30 minutes into this movie, I wasn’t sure if this was the movie I always wanted to watch as a kid (Got released the same year of Bollywood legend ‘Hum Aapke Hain Kaun’). I had read about Pulp fiction growing up and with that stellar cast, wanted to experience what the fuss is all about. After the initial wait, the first scene, where John Travolta and Uma Thurman start conversing, I was dragged into the movie – that is one hell of a “Meet Cute” moment and that is where the brilliance of the actors and the Director comes into play.

To see Bruce Willis like a casual boxer, Samuel Jackson with side-burns, John Travolta’s dance moves, the tension between him and Uma Thurman giving in and suppressing the attraction is well worth the wait. I started watching Hollywood pretty late and to see most of these actors in their prime is an absolute bliss. Without trying to objectify him, Bruce Willis getting ready by wearing a simple t-shirt and jeans is the most aesthetic scene I have seen in a long time.

In the new age cinema where Karthik Aryan’s monologue has become so famous, I strongly prefer the tension between two folks conversing, putting across their point of thought, and managing stress. There are a lot of corporate lessons in between. I wonder if someone has it in their training. The scene I found most relatable for the memes on Instagram today would be the discussion Travolta has with oneself in the bathroom (😉).

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started